The Airline: Aeroflot Аэрофлот

"Aeroflot — Russian Airlines" (Russian: ОАО «Аэрофлот-Российские авиалинии - Aeroflot-Rossiĭskie avialinii») (MICEX:AFLT RTS:AFLT), commonly known as Aeroflot (Аэрофлот, English translation: "air fleet"), is the flag carrier and largest airline of the Russian Federation, based on passengers carried per year. Aeroflot operates domestic and international passenger services to 97 cities in 48 countries, mainly from Sheremetyevo International Airport, Moscow, using a fleet of 94 aircraft.

Headquartered in Moscow, Aeroflot is one of the oldest airlines in the world, tracing its history back to 1923. In 1956, it became the first airline to successfully operate regular jet airliner services with the Tupolev Tu-104.
During the Soviet era, Aeroflot was the Soviet national airline and the largest airline in the world. Since the dissolution of the USSR, Aeroflot has been transformed from a state-run enterprise into a semi-privatised airline which ranks amongst the most profitable in the world. Aeroflot is still considered the de facto national airline of Russia.

Aeroflot has embarked on a fleet modernisation program, extensive route restructuring, and an image overhaul. The airline joined SkyTeam in April 2006

Russian description below:

ОАО «Аэрофло́т — росси́йские авиали́нии» — крупнейшая российская авиакомпания. Штаб-квартира — в Москве.
Основана 9 февраля 1923 года постановлением Совета труда и обороны РСФСР «Об организации Совета по гражданской авиации» и «О возложении технического надзора за воздушными линиями на Главное управление воздушного флота». Название «Аэрофлот» было закреплено за гражданской авиацией СССР 25 февраля 1932 года.
«Аэрофлот» — член Международной ассоциации воздушного транспорта (ИАТА).
Базовый аэропорт авиакомпании — московский аэропорт Шереметьево (терминалы D, E, F).


Post a Comment

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More

Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Blogger Templates