The Airline: Air Tahiti

Société Air Tahiti Société Anonyme is a regional airline with its head office on the property of Faa'a International Airport, in Faaa, Tahiti, French Polynesia, near Papeete. Air Tahiti's network covers 46 islands within French Polynesia, plus the island of Rarotonga. Its main base is Faa'a International Airport.

The airline was established and started operations in 1953 as Réseau Aérien Interinsulaire (RAI), when the government of French Polynesia took over the operations of small private carrier Air Tahiti, dating from 1950. In 1958 RAI was taken over by the French airline TAI (later UTA). The name Air Polynésie was adopted in 1970, with the further change of identity to Air Tahiti implemented in January 1987, when UTA sold its shares in Air Polynesie to local shareholders. In January 1987 ATR aircraft replaced earlier Fokker aircraft. In 2003 the airline carried nearly 729,000 passengers.
Air Tahiti has 1,018 employees (at March 2007) and is owned by the French Polynesian Government (13.7%), Socredo Bank (13.4%), employees (8.4%), private shareholders (33.5), Air France (7.48%) and the rest by other institutional investors.

French description below:

Air Tahiti (code AITA : VT ; code OACI : VTA) est une compagnie aérienne régulière qui opère en Polynésie française. Société privée, elle assure toutefois une mission de service public. Plateforme de correspondance : aéroport de Tahiti Faa'a.

More stewardesses at World Stewardess Crews


Post a Comment

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More

Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Blogger Templates